Interview with Pierre Petrou, in charge of Twitter for MPS Camden

Pierre Petrou runs the Twitter account for MPS Camden. He told onthebeat101 about how the account came about, how it works and the benefits of Twitter to police forces…

Pierre, how did the MPS Camden Twitter account come about?

MPS Camden has wanted a Twitter account for a long time. The Met finally decided to run some pilot schemes across London, before extending it to any borough. Our application was successful, so now we have Twitter. I run the account because as Head of Business operations, I’m responsible for communications – which includes Twitter. I enjoy it…

What are the main benefits of Twitter?

With Twitter we can communicate with anyone, very quickly. We aren’t reliant on other media to pass on the message. I can tell the public, journalists, local businesses about our major operations, incidents, convictions, and appeals.

So, how do you actually go about using Twitter?

When I hear information, I try to put it up on Twitter first, because I think it’s designed to communicate information quickly. So if I attend a meeting, hear about an incident, or an officer calls me up with information, I summarize it into 140 characters and post it up there. Want more details? Listen below…

Pierre Petrou runs MPS Camden Twitter from this police stationHow long do you spend on Twitter each day?

It depends, mostly just a few minutes several times a day. Sometimes I do spend longer as I have to resolve issues that crop up. I have a responsibility to try to respond to the public’s queries…

How often do you tweet?

Don’t tweet too much! We tweet about twice a day – we might start tweeting a bit more, but we don’t want to clog up people’s feeds!

What are the drawbacks of using Twitter?

The 140 character limit! Actually there are other things too…

Would you recommend other police forces get Twitter accounts?

I definitely would! And here’s why…

And if that wasn’t enough for you, you can listen to my full interview with Pierre Petrou right here…

Don’t forget to tell us what you think! Are you persuaded that your force should get Twitter? Do you think it’s a waste of time? Let us know by commenting below, tweeting us @onthebeat101, or sending an email to onthebeat101@gmail.com.

Want to know more?

Read our feature Policing with Twitter. We’ve also got Top Tips for PCSOs on Twitter and the story of one of Twitter’s most followed PCSOs

